+230 240 2170 Fax: +230 242 9942 iwf@intnet.mu

Our Story

Who We Are.

In 1969, a group of Muslim brothers felt strongly that there was an important vacuum in the Muslim community of Mauritius. While on the religious and cultural levels, we were well provided for – 110 mosques and some 600 madrassahs, a central socio-economic institution was absent. Hence the birth of the Islamic Welfare Foundation which by and by has come to assume the role of the Mauritian Bait-Ul-Maal. It is recognised by the Government as a Registered Charitable Organisation (Registration Number: 855) and is affiliated to the government sponsored Mauritius Council of Social Service.

Major Role of IWF


Give a better preparation to our needy and deserving young to compete for their livelihood through EDUCATION.

Job Training

Give skills to the work-searcher through JOB TRAINING

Job Creation

Provide modest capital and equipment to the unemployed.

Monthly Food Rations

Relief of the old and poor through MONTHLY FOOD RATIONS

Housing for the Poor

Relief of the old and poor by helping them finding a new home or with home renovations,

Medical Assistance

Relief of suffering through MEDICAL ASSISTANCE.

Major Clause of IWF

To give assistance, financial or otherwise, to relieve distress.

To give general advice in social and other welfare matters.
To encourage learning

To award scholarships, to make donations and grants.

To publish and/or to encourage the publication of books periodicals and magazine etc which will be of benefit to members of the Islamic Faith.

To promote Islamic Education and Culture.

Donate Now


Statistics of last 3 Years

Meet The Team

Mr Shakil Sayed

Company Director

Mr Reshad Uteem CSK
Vice Chairman

Vice chairman Islamic Cultural Association.
Former Chairman & Director Islamic Cultural Centre.
Retired Principal State Secondary School.

Mr Swaleh Ibrahim

Retired Head Master

Mr Swaleh Lallmahamood OSK
Assistant Secretary

Secretary Islamic Cultural Association.
Retired School Inspector

Mr Irfan Abdool Raman GOSK

Electoral Commissioner.

Mr Hassam Ramjaun
Assistant Treasurer

Retired Head Master

Mr Khodadeen Sumodhee OBE

Retired Permanent Secretary.
Former Advisor at Currimjee Jeewanjee Ltd Corporate.

Mr Abdool Rahman Jumeer

Retired School Inspector

Mr Shakeel Noor Hassan


Mr Muhammad Yaaseen Auckbaraullee

Financial Operation Officer